Friday Night Awards Dinner (2022)

SCMA is thrilled to kick off the 34th Annual Fall Conference with an Awards Dinner at the beautiful Huntley Hotel in Santa Monica Beach. This exclusive event boasts both a beautiful outdoor and indoor space to mingle and network with fellow members of the dispute resolution community. We will begin the evening with drinks and passed hors d’oeuvres, followed by a 3 course dinner coupled with an exciting program honoring our award recipients and celebrating the history of the organization and the impact it has made on the mediation community.

SCMA will follow the Los Angeles County protocols that are in place at the time of the dinner and the conference. For information, visit the LA County Public Health Website

  • Date: Friday, November 4, 2022
  • Time: 6:00 pm – 10:00 pm
  • Venue: The Huntley Hotel in Santa Monica Beach
  • Space is limited to 65 guests, so don’t wait to register! 

Note: Additional registration is required.


Each year SCMA presents the Cloke-Millen Peacemaker Award to an individual or organization in the dispute resolution community who inspires us through their passion and dedication to peacemaking. The award is named in honor of two of SCMA’s founding members: Kenneth Cloke and Richard Millen. This year’s Cloke- Millen Peacemaker Award will be awarded to Hon. Angela Robinson (Ret.).

Also being presented is the SCMA’s L. Randolph Lowry Award. This award is presented to a member of the dispute resolution community who has honored and inspired us through their passion and dedication to education in the field. The award is named in honor of L. Randolph Lowry, one of the founders of SCMA and an educational leader of the mediation movement in Southern California for many years. This year’s L. Randolph Lowry Award will be presented to Professor Robert A. Baruch Bush.

It has been a tradition at our annual conference that the SCMA president recognizes an SCMA member who has either made a significant impact to the organization and/or made extra efforts in their support to the President during their term in office. This year’s President’s Award for Exceptional Service to the Organization will be awarded to Andy Shelby.

Board of Directors

We will thank our outgoing board members: Susan Guthrie, Lucia Galante Johnson, and Mark Lemke whose board term will end this year. We also will install our new board members and our President-Elect (to be announced) along with our new board President, Jennifer Terando.

Dinner Includes:

  • Cocktail Hour
  • Passed Hors D’oeuvres 
  • Choice of Ora King Salmon, Cavatelli Braised Short Rib, or Vegan Dish
  • Dessert

Additional Information:

  • Valet Parking: $18.00
  • The Awards Dinner registration is non-refundable

Join Us at the Mediation Conference of the Year