Each year, we are honored to present prestigious and highly recognized awards at the conference. With your conference attendance, you will be able to celebrate and commemorate the recipients. Click on each award to see the recipients!

Cloke-Millen Award Winner
L. Randolph Lowry Award Winner
Young Peacemaker Award Winner

Cloke-Millen Peacemaker Award

Each year the Southern California Mediation Association presents the Cloke-Millen Peacemaker Award to an individual or organization in the dispute resolution community who inspires us through their passion and dedication to peacemaking.

The award is named in honor of two of the SCMA’s founding members: Kenneth Cloke and Richard Millen. Kenneth Cloke, the Director of the Center for Dispute Resolution in Santa Monica, is an internationally-recognized speaker and author in the field of conflict resolution. He is also the founder of Mediators Beyond Borders. Richard Millen, who passed away in 2010, was a distinguished mediator and mediation trainer, who co-chaired the first conference of mediators in Southern California, which led to a second conference at which the SCMA was born.

2019 Recipient – Leonard L. Riskin

Leonard L. Riskin was appointed the Harris H. Agnew Visiting Professor of Dispute Resolution at Northwestern Pritzker School of Law in 2015, where he has been a visiting professor since 2010. He also has been the Chesterfield Smith Professor of Law at the University of Florida College of Law since 2007. He previously served as Director of the Center for the Study of Dispute Resolution and Isidor Loeb Professor of Law at the University of Missouri-Columbia. He teaches and writes about mediation, negotiation, and alternative dispute resolution, and has led a major project to integrate dispute resolution into standard law school classes. He also works at integration of mindfulness into the education of lawyers and other dispute resolution professionals. Professor Riskin has published several books and numerous articles in scholarly journals, as well as essays in popular publications; has led training workshops around the world; and has won numerous awards for his work, including the Award for Outstanding Scholarship from the ABA Section of Dispute Resolution in 2013.

View Past Recipients

L. Randolph Lowry Award

Each year the SCMA presents the L. Randolph Lowry Award to a member of the dispute resolution community who has honored and inspired us through their passion and dedication to education in the field of dispute resolution. The award is presented at the Friday Evening Kick-off Dinner Reception.

2019 Recipient – Professor Carrie Menkel-Meadow

Carrie Menkel-Meadow is Distinguished Professor of Law and Political Science at the University of California, Irvine and A.B. Chettle Jr. Professor of Law, Dispute Resolution and Civil Procedure Emerita at Georgetown University Law Center. She is one of the founders of the modern legal dispute resolution field and has been teaching negotiation, mediation and related subjects for over 35 years.

She has published over 15 books and 200 articles in the field. She was the first recipient of the American Bar Association’s Award for Scholarly Excellence in Dispute Resolution (2011). In February 2018 she was awarded the American Bar Foundation’s Award for Outstanding Scholar. Menkel-Meadow has taught law and dispute resolution to diplomats, lawyers, law students, mediators, government officials and ordinary citizens in 26 countries (on seven continents).

She has mediated and arbitrated hundreds of disputes in the United States including commercial, arts, and education cases, as well as many general civil litigation matters. She has also mediated and arbitrated cases outside of the United States.

View Past Recipients

Inaugural Young Peacemaker Award (formerly the KMC Director’s Award)

Presented by Kids Managing Conflict, SCMA Education Foundation

The Young Peacemakers Award recognizes an outstanding Peer Mediator from a Southern California School for their contribution to their fellow students and school. The recipient not only is a peacemaker at school, they also carry their mediation skills into their home and community. Kids Managing Conflict is proud to support the mediators of tomorrow.

2019 Recipient – Sarai Benitez

This year, the KMC Board is delighted to announce that Sarai Benitez is the recipient of 2019 Young Peacemaker Award (formerly the Directors Award). Sarai first became involved with Peer Mediation her junior year of High School, after she had gone through traumatic bullying. In her first year, she mediated over 50 students with her fellow mediators, earning her new problem solving skills, and deepening her compassion. Wanting to help more, Sarai began to take on more referrals, including from people who felt they had a conflict with themselves. She found that students felt much more safe and comfortable speaking to a peer about their emotions instead of a staff member. By the time she graduated high school, Sarai felt Peer Mediation completely changed her life. Sarai is now pursuing a career in Music Therapy, and will begin her second year at California State University, Northridge this fall.

View Past Recipients

Ready to Take Your Practice to a New Level?